Is CLAPACK 3.2.1 really thread safe?

Open discussion regarding features, bugs, issues, vendors, etc.

Is CLAPACK 3.2.1 really thread safe?

Postby chengiz » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:15 pm

On http://www.netlib.org/clapack/, CLAPACK 3.2.1 is mentioned to be threadsafe.
However, looking at the code, dlamch.c is definitely not thread safe, and dlaln2.c does not appear to be thread safe.
Also, dlacon.c and (in CBLAS) drotmg.c do not appear to be thread safe, but they seem to be unused.
Am I missing something? Thank you.
chengiz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:09 pm

Re: Is CLAPACK 3.2.1 really thread safe?

Postby admin » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:06 am

Now we advice to use LAPACK/LAPACKE combination instead of CLAPACK.
To get those library, just download LAPACK 3.4.0 at http://netlib.org/lapack/
Those will be thread safe for sure.
Julie
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Is CLAPACK 3.2.1 really thread safe?

Postby chengiz » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:28 pm

Unfortunately we cant do that because we dont always have fortran compilers.
chengiz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:09 pm

Re: Is CLAPACK 3.2.1 really thread safe?

Postby utflame » Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:38 pm

You may want to try libflame. It does not require Fortran and is comparable to LAPACK (when linked to the right BLAS library). It is also thread safe.

(A few years ago, we found a lot of problems with thread safety in LAPACK, particularly in routines related to the application of Householder transformations. This was fixed by properly labeling parameters as being INPUT/OUTPUT, but that is a bit tricky and only identifies the routines as not being thread safe. It is possible that more recently this was fixed further. I have not checked recently.)

Check http://www.cs.utexas.edu/users/flame/ to see if it has the functionality you need. Let us know if you need help.

Robert
utflame
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:30 pm

Re: Is CLAPACK 3.2.1 really thread safe?

Postby chengiz » Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:21 pm

@utflame

Thanks, but your software is GPL which I cannot use.
chengiz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:09 pm


Return to User Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests