SGESDD or DGESDD with huge matrices

Open discussion regarding features, bugs, issues, vendors, etc.

SGESDD or DGESDD with huge matrices

Postby flappinski » Thu May 21, 2009 9:15 am

Hi,
I am new to lapack and especially I am not a mathematician. So sorry for stupid questions.
I want to extract proncipal components out of a m-by-m matrix. Without lapack it took for weeks on relatively big datasets (1000x1000). So I introduced lapack, what improved the speed significantly (only hours).
But now I get a memory problem. with DGESDD the program crashes even before getting to this function (while initializing the variables) on a 16GB machine. So I switched to SGESDD. Since it uses float values, the initialization is fine. But I get an error, since the variable lwork is 2.805.682.880 for a matrix of 20020x20020. This figure is to high for an integer and gets a negative value.
I am using a 64bit machine.
Is anybody out there who can give me solution to this issue?
thanks a bunch,
Stephan
flappinski

Re: SGESDD or DGESDD with huge matrices

Postby Julien Langou » Thu May 21, 2009 10:12 am